- Fines up to $500;
- Suspension of your driver's license; and
- The possibility of time in jail.
You may also see a significant rise in your auto insurance rates. If fact, your rates can go up to as much as $5,000/year. You will also have to attend, and successfully complete, an Alcohol Safety Action program.
In addition to state penalties, additional penalties from your college may include:
- Disciplinary action;
- Suspension from your institution (and/or extracurricular activities, such as sports);
- Loss of scholarships; and/or
- Permanent expulsion.
Underage drunk driving is a serious crime. And in Virginia, you will face the same penalties that you would as an adult. If you want to fight your Virginia DUI, you can get the professional help of a Virginia DUI defense attorney.
If you have recently been charged with a Virginia DUI, and you are under 21, you may want to know what penalties you face. To learn more, visit our article Can I Get A Virginia DUI If I Am Under 21?
Virginia DUI defense attorney Bob Battle has the experience and ability to help his clients use the prosecution's errors to mount a successful DUI defense. To learn more about Virginia DUI, get a free copy of Bob Battle's consumer guide, How to Choose a DUI Lawyer in Virginia. Or, contact 804-673-5600 to schedule your legal consultation today.