The report also shows that thousands of motorists are unwilling or unable to pay the fees. As the fees were approved in February, a person convicted of a felony or misdemeanor driving offense has to pay $250 to $1,050 a year for three consecutive years. If the motorist fails to pay, the Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend the person's driver's license.Richmond Virginia DUI and Reckless Driving/Speeding Lawyer Bob Battle, who spends virtually every day in traffic court in Richmond and the surrounding jurisdictions of Hanover County, Caroline County, Henrico County, Chesterfield County and New Kent County, has seen many instances of officers giving speeding tickets to Virginia motorists who could have been charged with reckless driving/speeding because the officers disagreed with these enormous fines. The issue will be hotly debated when the Virginia General Assembly reconvenes next month. Opponents of the civil remedial fees are calling for its repeal while House Republicans are expected to resist repeal efforts. Republican Delegate Dave Albo from Springfield, Virginia has introduced a bill to make fee fees apply to out-of-state drivers; currently, only Virginia drivers are assessed the fees. The bill would also limit the offensive that would trigger a fee, rewrite the reckless driving statute and give judges more latitude on whether to suspend a license.