The state of Virginia adds additional penalties to drivers who are convicted of DUI while there are juveniles aged 17 years or younger present within the vehicle. The extra penalties include 5 additional days of jail time in addition to all other fines and jail sentences. There is also the possibility of an additional fine between $500 and $1,000.
A second DUI offense in Virginia involving a juvenile passenger will result in an additional 80-hour community service requirement, in addition to all other fines and jail sentences.
The state of Virginia imposes extra penalties on DUI offenders who choose to drive with children present in their vehicle. These are serious charges and it is important to consult with an experienced Virginia DUI defense attorney before pleading guilty.
If you've already been charged with a DUI in Virginia, order our FREE consumer guide: How to Choose a DUI Lawyer in Virginia or contact Virginia DUI Lawyer Bob Battle to schedule your legal consultation today - 804-673-5600.
Post a Comment to "Virginia DUI Charges When Minors Are Present"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."