Under Virginia law, ignition interlock devices are mandated as part of the DUI offender's sentence in specific circumstances. You must install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle if:
- you have been convicted of DUI with a blood alcohol content of .15 or higher;
- you have been convicted of DUI for the second time; or
- you have been convicted of DUI for third or fourth time (only if the judge grants you permission to continue driving).
For an initial DUI conviction, you must put an ignition interlock system on your vehicle for up to 6 months. For any repeat DUI offenses that time period is extended to between 6 and 12 months.
Costs of an Ignition Interlock System
In addition to the requirement of installing the ignition interlock device on your vehicle, you will also be obligated to pay for the costs associated with the Ignition Interlock program. These costs vary depending on the county in which you were convicted of DUI.
Generally speaking, the cost of installing the device on your vehicle will cost a few hundred dollars. In addition, you will be assessed a monthly fee of around $30 to pay for the system that monitors your ignition interlock device. If you have any questions about the ignition interlock system or what your responsibilities are, your Virginia DUI defense lawyer should be able to answer them.
Hiring a Virginia DUI Defense Lawyer
In the face of this tremendously stacked deck, you get to pick one person to be on your side - your lawyer. This decision of who will be your lawyer will be one of the most important decisions you make in your life. Bob Battle relishes and thrives in his role of "going to battle" for the legal underdog.
If you have been arrested for DUI in Virginia, there is no time to waste! Get a free copy of Bob Battle's consumer guide, How to Choose a DUI Lawyer in Virginia. Or, contact 804-673-5600 to schedule your legal consultation today.