Go to navigation Go to content
Phone: 804.673.5600
Bob Battle Law

Get Help Now

Need Help? Have Questions? Fill out the quick contact form below and we'll will be in contact soon!

Unfortunately, Virginia Requires Chemical Tests After a DUI Arrest

Comments (0)

If you arrested for a DUI in Virginia, you are required to take a chemical test which will determine your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level. This means you are required to submit to either a breathalyzer test and/or a blood test at a detainment center or medical facility.

Refusing this test will see your license suspended for 1 year under Virginia's implied consent law with additional suspensions, fines, and possible jail time if you refuse the test multiple times within 10 years.

The reason that this is mandatory is because of Virginia's implied consent law, which you agreed to when you signed the application for your driver's license. Virginia's implied consent law also states that any person who operates a motor vehicle has consented to a chemical test whether they hold a Virginia driver's license or not. This means even out of state drivers have "consented" to this test simply by driving on Virginia's roads.

If you have recently been charged with a Virginia DUI, you may want to know how Virginia's implied consent law might affect your case. To learn more, visit our article Implied Consent Law in a Virginia DUI, or contact us for more information. Attorney Bob Battle has the experience and ability to help his client mount a successful DUI defense. Call our office at 804-673-5600 or fill out the contact form on this page to schedule your legal consulation today.

Bob Battle
100% of my practice is devoted to serious traffic defense and criminal litigation in state and federal courts
Be the first to comment!

Post a Comment

To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."

Name:*

Email:* (will not be published)

Message:*

Notify me of follow-up comments via email.