Reckless Driving is not merely a traffic infraction. It is a criminal offense - a class 1 misdemeanor - the most serious class of misdemeanor in Virginia with maximum penalties of 1 year in jail, $2,500 fine, and a 6-month suspension of your driver's license.
Jail Time for Reckless Driving in Virginia
It sounds unbelievable that you could go to jail just for speeding, but it happens. Under Virginia traffic laws, jail is one of many viable penalties for reckless driving in Virginia. You are far more likely to go to jail for speeds greater than 90 miles per hour.
- Speeds between 90 and 100 miles per hour can result in days or weeks in jail; and
- Speeds greater than 100 miles per hour can result in months or a year in jail.
Virginia traffic laws are such that the average conviction of reckless driving in Virginia at a speed greater than 90 miles per hour now carries more jail time than the average conviction of felony drug possession, felony shoplifting, felony embezzlement, or even felony grand theft auto. Thus, if you have received a ticket for reckless driving in Virginia you are may now be subject to greater punishment than an actual criminal.
Virginia Reckless Speeding Lawyer Bob Battle understands the drastic and unfair consequences that a reckless driving conviction could have on both Virginia licensed motorists and out-of-state motorists caught in one of Virginia's "Yankee speed traps" as they drive through Virginia for business or vacation.
If you have been ticketed for Reckless Driving Speeding in Virginia, there is no time to waste! Get a free copy of Bob Battle's consumer guide, The Shocking Truth About Reckless Driving/Speeding in Virginia. Or, contact 804-673-5600 to schedule your legal consultation today.