Go to navigation Go to content
Phone: 804.673.5600
Bob Battle Law

Get Help Now

Need Help? Have Questions? Fill out the quick contact form below and we'll will be in contact soon!

What To Expect From Your Second DUI Offense (Part B)

What if I refused the breath test?

In the state of Virginia you do not have the option of requesting a blood test instead of a breath test. Prior DUI conviction or refusal of a breath test will result in a class 2 misdemeanor charge.

Will my license be suspended? Can I reinstate my driving privileges?

After a second DUI offense, your license will automatically be suspended for a minimum of 60 days or until you go to trial, whichever comes first. While typical DUI second offense cases result in a 3-year-suspension of driving privileges, restricted licenses can be obtained in as little as 4 months if your prior conviction happened more than 5 years before your second offense. If your conviction occurred less than 5 years ago, you will be allowed to appeal for a revoked license after 1 year.

Why should I involve a Virginia DUI defense attorney?

No lawyer can promise to get you out of the Virginia state minimum penalties, but a seasoned Virginia DUI defense attorney can help you avoid getting the maximum sentence. Having the guidance of a DUI defense attorney can help keep you from making common mistakes in your case that can result in further incrimination and harsher penalties.

Never trust a lawyer who guarantees a specific outcome or gives you a promised timeframe for the conclusion of your case
. No one, not even the trial judge, can determine the outcome or timeline of a DUI case before it happens. 

If you have been arrested for DUI in Virginia, contact Virginia DUI Attorney Bob Battle to schedule your legal consultation today - 804-673-5600.

Bob Battle
100% of my practice is devoted to serious traffic defense and criminal litigation in state and federal courts