During your probation following a first-time DUI conviction in Virginia, your driving restrictions may have included the installation of an Ignition Interlock system in your vehicle. Virginia is one of more than 35 states that have begun using Ignition Interlock as a preventative measurement against repeated DUI offenses.
An ignition interlock device analyzes your Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) and determines if it is beyond a preset level (usually 0.02-0.04%). If the recorded BAC reaches above the level during vehicle operation, the system will disable the vehicle. Many units in use today require a new breath test every few minutes while you are driving to ensure sobriety.
The Virginia courts will require an ignition interlock device to be installed in every vehicle you own, co-own or operate as a condition to obtain restricted or restored driving privileges following a first-time DUI conviction.
The ignition interlock device implementation applies:
- To first-time DUI convictions with a BAC of 0.15% or higher
- Second-time convictions within 10 years of your first
- Third or subsequent convictions
An ignition interlock device is also required by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles for second-time offenders whose conviction was within 5 years of their first, or any offender who has been convicted of DUI 3 times within 10 years, even if the court does not require it.
Learn more about penalties for first-time DUI offenses in Virginia by visiting our article library.
If you have questions about the use of an Ignition Interlock system in your DUI conviction, contact Virginia DUI Lawyer Bob Battle to schedule your legal consultation today - 804-673-5600.