If your driving privilege has been revoked as a result of a first-time DUI conviction you may qualify to obtain a Restricted Operator's License so you may continue to drive to your job and participate in other necessary activities, such as attending doctor's appointments. A restricted license in Virginia will allow for you to operate a vehicle during certain hours to a restricted list of locations that are deemed necessary for your daily life.

The Virginia court has the authority to grant a restricted license for a first-time DUI at the time of conviction
. However, a second DUI offense will not allow for a restricted license until 1 year following conviction if the second DUI was within 5 years of your first DUI offense, or after 4 months if it was within 10 years of your first DUI arrest. If this is your third DUI offense, you can appeal for a restricted license 3 years following conviction.

A restricted license in Virginia will allow you to continue travel to and from a confirmed employment location and in some cases associated locations in regards to the nature of the job, school (for yourself or a minor child under your care), health care services, and court-ordered appearances or programs. In every appeal for a restricted license in Virginia, thorough documentation of the necessity of each type of travel is critical to being granted those privileges.

Learn more about penalties for first-time DUI offenses in Virginia by visiting our article library. 

If you have questions about your options following a first-time DUI conviction in Virginia, contact Virginia DUI lawyer Bob Battle to schedule your legal consultation today - 804-673-5600.

Bob Battle
Connect with me
100% of my practice is devoted to serious traffic defense and criminal litigation in state and federal courts
Post A Comment