Most state Department of Motor Vehicles employ a demerit point system to assess penalties upon drivers who violate the state's traffic laws. Demerit points do add up with multiple violations and, depending on the nature of the violation, can stay on your record for several years.
In Virginia, violations are categorized into 3 levels of point value: 3-point, 4-point, and 6-point violations. These points appear on your traffic record until removed by your own actions or the allotted time expires.
All types of Virginia DUI violations are 6-point violations that remain on your record for 11 years. Accumulating 3 of these convictions, or any combination of a Virginia DUI and other major convictions, may lead to you being declared a habitual offender - a status that carries harsh penalties.
You may remove your Virginia demerit points from your license in one of two ways:
- taking a driver improvement clinic OR
- accumulating Safe Driving Points
The driver improvement class is a DMV-certified course designed to refresh your memory on the rules of the road. Many of these courses can be completed online (unless you are younger than 20 years old, then you must take the course in a classroom setting) but the final exam must be taken at a centralized test site.
Upon passing a driver improvement class, you may be eligible for up to 5 Safe Driving Points, although some courts may not accept the online course, so it's important to check first. Safe Driving Points are also accumulated 1 per calendar year you hold a valid Virginia driver's license without any violations or suspensions.
Your Virginia DUI defense attorney can help advise you on how to keep your records in top shape, contact Virginia DUI Lawyer Bob Battle to schedule your legal consultation today - 804-673-5600.