A Virginia DUI conviction often comes with heavy penalties. These include license suspensions, thousands of dollars in fines, and the possibility of time in jail. There are also separate penalties for specific infractions, such as transporting children while under the influence.

The best way to avoid paying these penalties is to fight your DUI case. Virginia DUI charges can be beaten or reduced, but you will need a Virginia DUI defense attorney with plenty of experience to build your DUI defense.

Penalties for Virginia DUI while Driving with Children

A Virginia DUI conviction that involves a juvenile passenger (anyone age 17 or younger) will result in an additional mandatory 5 day jail sentence. A judge may also impose an additional fine of at least $500 and up to $1000

A second Virginia DUI while driving with children carries an additional 80 hours of community service, in addition to all other penalties and fines.

An Example of a Virginia DUI Case Involving Child Endangerment

A perfect example of this type of DUI case is a man that was convicted of DUI with children in his car in the summer of 2009. In this case, Shane Litchford of Campbell County was charged with his 4th offense for DUI, in addition to driving recklessly (23 mph over the speed limit) with his two children in the back seat. The arresting deputy testified that he stopped Litchford after seeing him driving at 58 mph in a 35 mph zone. Breath test results showed Litchford's blood alcohol content (BAC) measured at .10%, which was above the legal limit of .08%. At the time he was driving, his 2-year-old son and 3 ½-month-old infant were both in the car.

Continue to Next Page >>

Bob Battle
Connect with me
100% of my practice is devoted to serious traffic defense and criminal litigation in state and federal courts