If you have recently been convicted of a Virginia DUI, and your driver's license has been suspended, you may be able to reinstate your Virginia driver's license. However, you must first complete the necessary requirements that have been established by the court. Because each Virginia DUI is different, there is no standard set of requirements. To reinstate your Virginia driver's license, you will have to do whatever the court determines in your case.
Some of the steps you may need to take to reinstate your driver's license include:
- Paying all of your court costs and fines;
- Attending a Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program;
- Paying the required reinstatement fees; and/or
- Providing the DMV with an SR-22 form, which confirms that you have obtained high-risk coverage from your auto insurance provider.
The driver's license reinstatement fees may range from $40 to $220. You can either pay this directly at the DMV's office, or you may be able to pay it online. The DMV may also ask you for a medical report from a licensed physician. To learn exactly what you must do to reinstate your license, and to fulfill all of the necessary steps, you can get the professional help of a Virginia DUI defense attorney.
If your driver's license has been suspended after a Virginia DUI, you may want to know what steps to take to reinstate your license. To learn more, read our article How Do I Reinstate My License After a DUI in Virginia?
Virginia DUI defense attorney Bob Battle has the experience and ability to help his clients use the court's errors to mount a successful DUI defense. To learn more about Virginia DUI, get a free copy of Bob Battle's consumer guide, How to Choose a DUI Lawyer in Virginia. Or, contact 804-673-5600 to schedule your legal consultation today.