Virginia laws and penalties are strict when it comes to reckless driving in Virginia. Simply exceeding the speed limit by 20 mph, or exceeding a speed of 80 mph, will constitute a reckless driving charge. And this will not be considered a minor traffic infraction; reckless driving in Virginia is a serious criminal offense.
A reckless driving conviction can lead to fines, license suspensions, a permanent criminal record, and the possibility of time in jail. To beat your Virginia reckless driving charge, you can get the help of a Virginia reckless driving attorney. While success is never guaranteed, an expert attorney will know the ways to build a solid defense for your case.
The Costs of a Conviction of Reckless Driving in Virginia
The costs of a Virginia reckless driving conviction include:
- Court costs and fines;
- License suspension of up to 6 months;
- Points on your driving record;
- Increased insurance fees;
- 2 days in jail for every mph above 90 and, if above 100 mph, 30 days added to that; and
- A permanent Class 1 misdemeanor on your criminal record.
These penalties can affect your professional life, as well as your future career. Job opportunities may be hard to come by with a permanent criminal record. To prevent these penalties from limiting your future employment, you can fight your charge with the help of an experienced Virginia reckless driving attorney.
Continue to Next Page >>