In Virginia, you do not need to be driving particularly recklessly or even far above the posted maximum speed limit to be charged with reckless driving in Virginia. This is a criminal charge complete with criminal record and possible jail time. Many find this hard to believe, especially the jail aspect.
Calculating Jail Time Based on Speed in a Reckless Driving Speeding Conviction
People are commonly sentenced to jail time for driving at speeds above 90 miles per hour. The amount of time to be spent in jail will vary from judge to judge by some Virginia judges rely on a mathematical formula: 2 days for every mile per hour over 90 and if the speed is greater than 100 miles per hour, stack on an additional 30 days.
For example, if you were driving at a speed of 106 miles per hour, you could spend 62 days in jail. To show you how the jail time formula breaks down:
- 106 - 90 = 16
- 16 x 2 = 32
- 32 + 30 = 62
Keep in mind under this formula, if you had you been driving a mere 7 miles per hour slower, at 99 miles per hour, you would be going to jail for only 18 days rather than 2 months. Also there is no special "speeder's jail," you would be in the same jail as other convicted criminals.
Learn more about the penalties for reckless driving in Virginia by visiting our article library.
There are many technical defenses to defending speeding cases. If you have been ticketed for Reckless Driving Speeding in Virginia, there is no time to waste! Get a free copy of Bob Battle's consumer guide, The Shocking Truth About Reckless Driving/Speeding in Virginia.
Bob Battle has gained a reputation among other attorneys for developing new and creative arguments to attempt to keep the results of your speed out of evidence for moving radar cases, stationary radar cases, VASCAR cases and even cases where the officer "paced" the other vehicle. Contact 804-673-5600 to schedule your legal consultation today.